top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Sands

Interview with professional actor Caroline Curran

What is your name?

Caroline Curran


Where are you based?

Belfast


Is acting your full time job?

Yes I am a full time Actor/writer.


What was your journey like in becoming a professional actor.

When I left university I became a Stage Manager as I couldn’t get seen as an actress. I did this and made a great living and contacts. I had to give up stage management to get people to see me as a serious actress. So I retired undefeated champion and perused my dream of being on stage rather than behind it and luckily it paid off.


What are the essentials actors need to jumpstart their career?

I think what aided me was studying my craft. Learning every aspect of the theatre and never giving up when times are tough. Stage Management gave me an insight to all aspects of theatre and also the respect for people who are devoted to it. Always be nice to stage management as they are the people who look after you.


How did you get a job in acting? (are you with an agency?)

I did many open auditions and one head of a Theatre company saw me. Patricia Downey from Spanner in the Works (who is now also my agent/personal manager) took a chance on me and gave me my door into acting.


What training did you go through?

I left school at 16 to do a BTECH ND and HND in Performing Arts and a Degree in Drama from Queens University Belfast.


How do you find working as an actor in the industry?

It can be so difficult to get work as the funding here in Belfast has been severely cut, that is why I also gained the opportunity to write my own plays (which I have done for the past 5 years at Theatre at the Mill in Belfast) So even if there is no work I create my own.


What‘s involved in an audition process?

There are many different forms, solo (where you go in with a piece prepared or you read the sides that are given for the audition). Workshop style (where you’re thrown into a group and everyone is in together). And now the new craze is self-taping.


What challenges do you face in your job of acting?

The obvious challenge is lack of jobs and the amount of new people coming and going. I try not to focus on the negative aspect and try to always be creating even when times are hard.


What is the key to perfecting a comedic role?

Many people say the key to comedy is timing but I also find that playing the truth within a comedic role can bring some of the best and biggest laughs. Also playing the tragedy can bring out some of the best comedy you can ever perform.


What would you say are the differences between acting on stage to acting on screen?

Acting on stage you have to be bigger, gestures, expressions, vocally. On screen I find everything is far more measured and contained.


What advice would you give to young aspiring actors?

It sounds like such a cliché but never give up. Always trying to better yourself. Learn new talents, new strings to your bow. Always be productive even when there is nothing happening. I always said one day “I will have a sold out one woman show in the Grand Opera House Belfast” and sitting here at 35 I now have 4 (one woman shows) under my belt and have sold out every theatre in N.Ireland by myself and with a cast so dreams do come true. You just gotta work hard for it.


8 views0 comments
bottom of page