top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Sands

What can Equity provide us as students/upcoming actors?

First of all, what is Equity? Equity, established in 1929, is the UK trade union that stands for over 47,000 performers and people within the arts from acting to stage managing and from the stage to recording studios. The Equity community advocates for fair treatment of salary, health and safety in the work environment. It is there to safeguard performers who are just beginning their journey into the word of success. In order to join Equity, you need to complete their application form along with proof of your pay from professional work, this can be either: £500 paid work that is initially covered by them or a job in any profession to do with the arts through an Equity contract. However, as I am a current student soon to graduate, they have an option to give young aspiring graduates who have graduated within a certain period of time a Full Equity membership at half price along with all the advantages that comes with it.


As a student, it is vital that I join Equity as soon as possible as along with a membership comes benefits such as it gives me the opportunity to sign up for jobs in the theatre doing acting whilst I’m studying. Along with this I am able, if I want, to hold a stage name that is unique and my own in order to separate my job to myself. By doing this, it means that no one else can take my stage name and its exclusive to me. Holding a distinctive stage name allows me the opportunity to get noticed by name and allow this name to stick in people’s heads. It creates an entirely different profile for myself starting me out in the world of acting. Equity are also there to support me as a young ambitious actor, they will offer me advice and information when stuck in finding work within the industry. They also advise, depending on where I’m living in the UK, about where is best for accommodation with taxes etc. Equity also cover any injuries in the workplace with their accident and backstage insurance. As I am looking to get into acting, Equity offer free workshops and courses to members looking to enhance their skills and develop their experience. Along with free courses, they give discounts on photography, tickets, hotels, restaurants and many more depending on your situation. This is beneficial to me as after I graduate I will struggle to find work immediately.


In order to join, as I am currently a student, an annual membership would cost me £18.25 along with a one-off joining fee costing the same. Although this membership does not come with the benefits of the full Equity membership as I am technically still in training. Though, I think I want to wait until after I graduate. Theoretically the annual cost would be £123 for any professional actor, still as mentioned above, Equity give the opportunity to have the Full Equity membership at half price for a full two years after I graduate.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page